Instagram is one of the well-known platforms that are leaving behind every other mode of socializing. From refreshing our new feeds to scrolling through reels in a very short span of time, Instagram is being used by every possible user, either young or adult. Social media has turned into an essential aspect of our life. Whether it is about sharing their daily routine in the form of innovative blogs on prime social media platforms or scrolling through trending videos throughout the day, social media plays a crucial role in our whereabouts. Therefore, all prime social media platforms are in immense popularity these days.
Although, there might be some situations when these things feel like taking over your life routine, and thus, you intend to take a break from social media, specifically Instagram. The reason could vary per users’ line of thought, but it requires a few steps to delete or deactivate your account permanently or temporarily. So, let us go through all the points that could be a guide on how to delete an Instagram account temporarily or even permanently.
Things You Should be Considering Before You Delete Your Account
There are certain things you need to be aware of prior to deleting your Instagram account. Things that might lead you to reconsider your choice of deactivating it in the first place are your decision straight through the target.
To Know If You’re Deleting It Permanently or Just Deactivating It
If you are considering distancing yourself from all social media make sure you know if you want it permanently or just for a few amount of time, as there is a huge difference between the two choices. Make sure you want to deactivate your account or delete it forever.
Deactivation of your Instagram account acts towards suspending your posts into hiding your likes, comments, and all the elements that make you known on the platform, be it videos, photos, or even count of your followers. Temporarily disabling your account makes you invisible in everyone’s eyes on Instagram, as no one will get to see your profile, but it still provides you access to your private messages. And once you want to resume being a part of your social life you can resume where you left off, by activating your account in a few steps.
But that couldn’t be the case when you delete your account permanently, as it takes away your whole profile in one go. It will erase the entire content that is affiliated with your profile be it your reels, photos, likes, comments, followers, or even your mentions. Like this, you won’t get to start where you left off.
To Know That You Can’t Restore Your IG Account In 30 Days
It would be appropriate to say that once you tap the delete option on your screen you will bid a permanent goodbye to your Instagram account. You can’t get access to reactivate your account after the span of thirty days. Thus, if you change your mind after that, your entire backup will be deleted, whether it is about your profile or important DMs. It is being suggested that saving your content is necessary before you make your decision and it gets a chance to restore your backup.
How To Delete Instagram Account Permanently?
Before discussing the steps for deleting your account, it is necessary to know that the deletion process is contrasting for different devices either Android, iPhone or from any website.
How to Delete an Instagram Account on iPhone?
Deleting an Instagram from your iPhone takes different steps than an Android device. So let us take a look at the steps that require to delete an account from iPhone:
Choose the profile icon that is located bottom and ride side of your device. And then tap on the menu like the hamburger icon situated on the top-right side of the screen.
Then tap on the option quoting “Settings”.
Click the option “Account”.
Then select the “Delete Account” option from the Account menu.
Once you tap on the deleting option, it asks again in order to recheck, so choose “Delete Account” again.
Lastly, choose “Continue Deleting Account”.
How To Delete Instagram Account on Android?
When it comes to android devices or website versions, Instagram doesn’t allow you to delete your account directly. Thus, it requires access to the deletion page of your Instagram account, on your mobile or your computer web browser. Let’s go through the following step to do so:
The first essential step consists of Logging in to your Instagram account.
Next, you get to select the reason why you are deleting your account.
Then it asks for your password to reconfirm, so type down your current password.
Then choose the option to “Delete Account”
How To Deactivate Instagram Temporarily
After looking into the steps to erase your account from Instagram permanently, the next option that is being granted to all the users is that you can deactivate it on just a temporary basis. Suspending your innovative profile and taking a break from the whole social media, when you want to get back to your Instagram routine, deactivation helps you get to start from exactly where you left off.
So, let’s go through all steps necessary to be taken while deactivating the IG account:
Firstly, you need to choose the “Profile” option situated on the left side of your screen.
Then click on the option “Edit profile”.
After clicking the edit option, choose the “Temporarily Deactivate My Account” option.
Specify the reason you are deactivating it.
Then it will ask you to enter your password again, so re-enter your current password.
Lastly, choose the option “Temporarily Deactivate Account”.
Therefore, whether it is about deleting your account permanently or putting a pause on your social media premises through deactivation, there are options available for you. Instagram provides you with options appropriate to your requirements, so look into all the steps and make a choice whether you want to deactivate your profile for just a while or put s finally click on the delete option.